In addition to being sentenced to install an ignition interlock system, judges may also order alcohol school as a penalty for DUI. Alternatively, you may choose to take alcohol education classes to get back your driving privileges more quickly after a drunk driving conviction. Remember, you can install an ignition interlock system in your car and you will be allowed to drive legally. If you also take an alcohol education class, you may be able to get your license back even faster.
In California, there are many different types of alcohol education classes that are available. There is a 12-hour course, however, it is important to note that this course may not satisfy the requirements of the DMV to get back your license. The next level of alcohol education is 12-week alcohol school. This is a once a week, three-hour class that amounts to 36 hours of work. Depending on your sentence, this course could be enough to get a restricted license in California. There are other alcohol education courses for first time offenders. A DUI lawyer can tell you more about this.
There is also an 18-month alcohol school that requires weekly, and eventually bi-monthly attendance. This course is usually required of second-time DUI offenders. A 30-month course is sometimes offered for multiple offenders.
There are other options besides attending alcohol education classes in California. In fact, you can even find alcohol school on the internet. Many of these programs are taken to help get tickets dismissed, points removed from your license, insurance reduction and more. Sometimes driver safety courses are a requirement after a DUI, and many of these online alcohol schools can fulfill these requirements.
The cost of alcohol school in California varies depending on how much time you will be required to spend in alcohol education classes. The 12-hour courses could be around $200, whereas the 30-month multiple DUI offender course could cost in the range of $3500.
Alcohol education classes along with installing an ignition interlock system in your vehicle can significantly reduce the amount of time you will be without a license after a DUI conviction. It’s important to consult with a DUI lawyer about these possibilities.